Home Stretch

Home Stretch

There is one week left in my internship. One week before I leave Louisville. One week until I’m back at home. I am definitely wrapping up the summer on a high note, though. This week has been an absolute whirlwind of activity – and I have enjoyed every minute of it.

On Monday, I presented my project results from the work I have done all summer. I managed to finish my project and prepare a good presentation by the deadline! I was able to determine factors of businesses that are more likely to puchase some of Humana’s products. There is still more work to do before my results are ready to be sent off, but it’s very relieving to have something I can stand by now.

On Wednesday, my sister and I participated in the St. Matthews Mid-Summer’s Night 5k Run/Walk, held at the Bethel St. Paul church. It was the first 5k either of us have run, and we have been training all summer for the event. I really enjoyed spending time with her, and it was great to cross off another of my goals this summer. Not only that, but we also beat our goal (of 30 minutes) with a time of 28:10!

We poured water on ourselves to make us look less sweaty (it didn’t work).

Last, but definitely not least, the interns had dinner with Humana CFO Brian Kane on Thursday! Each of the actuarial interns were given a task (I made a 7 layer salad), and we hosted a nice Italian dinner. We had met him during a career talk earlier in the day, so it was a great opportunity for us to learn more about (and from) him in a more personal setting. I really enjoyed getting to know him, and he seemed to enjoy the evening as much as we did!

 

We are smiling so big because there were 30 more breadsticks in the oven.

All in all, it’s been a busy (and fun!) week. I don’t want to get *too* reflective – that’s for next week! But I have really enjoyed my time here. And while I am looking forward to going back to school in a couple weeks, I am definitely not looking forward to leaving here.

 

~~~

Weekly Selfie! I took this at the Demi Lovato/Nick Jonas Future Now tour. Alyssa (second from right) and I have wanted to see Demi Lovato in concert together since high school – and we finally got our chance! The concert definitely lived up to our expectations, and I can cross something off of my bucket list!

ANOTHER Weekly Selfie! This was taken from the top of the Ferris Wheel at Kentucky Kingdom. Dana came down a day early, so I took time off work to spend with her. We had a great time (though I would NOT recommend spending the day at a theme park before running).

Fun fact: The guy second from right in the below picture is the brother of the girl third from right in the above picture. #TheMoreYouKnow

Featuring tie-dyed shirts and my face looking surprised.

 

“Mountaintops don’t last forever. Heroes fall, and kings surrender. But you and I, that will never end.”

Leave a comment